Doing One Thing

Ever find yourself in a funk where you feel like there’s a thousand things to do and you don’t know where to start so you just start drinking and then pass out and wake up on the front lawn with a kazoo hanging out of your mouth? No? Me neither, but I can certainly relate. Its easy for me to get stuck and intimidated by the list of unfun things that need to get done. Dread as a seemingly impermeable barrier between me and happiness.

But here’s the thing. The way out of that funk is the simplest thing in the world. Just do one of those dreaded things. Because the truth is, once done, I almost always realise that what I was dreading wasn’t really that bad. Like just now. I’ve been putting off calling a restaurant supplier for a couple of weeks to clarify how we purchase from them. I don’t like talking on the phone and even more I hate trying to explain to corporate drones that I need to buy a bunch of stuff without a business license or non-profit status because I want to give away 1200 bowls of this French Canadian thing called poutine to drunk people in the desert. No really. So where do I sign?

I hate that stuff. And yet when I finally did call all of the hassle and insanity that I’d imagined melted away and he was able to answer my questions quickly and simply without any fuss or calling for the manager or faxing of any ID or criminal records or anything crazy like that. Hallelujah!

And now that the block has been breached its so much easier to get on with all of the other dreaded stuff because, y’know, its probably not going to be that bad.

Leave a Reply

