I Live in a Role Playing Game

I used to be a role playing nut. Oh yes. Uber geek city. That was me. Through high school and most of university my spare time revolved around goblins and robots, magic and hit points. I was a game master, player and yes even a published writer of RPG supplements. I still have several partially completed manuscripts on my hard drive for various RPG world books, sourcebooks and adventures. It really captured my imagination and provided many a happy memory and friendship.

Recently I dug up some of my old RPG books and tried to sell them on craigslist, without much success I’m afraid. You see I don’t need RPGs anymore, in fact they pale in comparison compared to my real life. The whole point of RPGs was that they took you into this amazing alternative world where you could be an elven warrior or an alien martial artist or anything your imagination could concoct in concert with the rules of whatever system you were using. Eventually my life took enough turns that my real life started to more and more resemble those fanciful worlds and eventually to eclipse them.

It really started when I went to Australia in 2000/2001. That’s where I joined the Cave Clan and started having real life adventures. Its continued ever since.

Today I can proudly say I’ve been behind Niagara Falls in a power station designed by a mad scientist, I’ve ridden a giant mechanical dinosaur (a few actually), I’ve endured dust storms, abseiled into deep mine shafts, run from security guards, and climbed up to mountaintop temples. To top it all off I’m dating a psychic witch descended from pirates. Sorry, but this is a thousand times better than rolling a natural twenty.

Now if only I could sell those books to someone who’s life is a little bit less interesting…

Leave a Reply

