Meat Chaser

My tummy’s been upset lately, hard to say exactly why but diet seems a reasonable enough guess given how this whole tummy thing figures into the whole body mechanism. Anyways I decided to start dropping more fruits and vegetables into it in an effort to appease the damn thing. So I had a salad tonight. A nice salad, two kinds of lettuce, tomato, red onion, swiss cheese and a nice Italian dressing. All in all a good vegetarian meal.

And yet…

The craving…

Less than ten minutes later I cranked open the fridge and sliced off a few chunks of pepperoni. Meat chaser for my salad.

I try, I really do, but I’m a goddam carnivore no matter how you cut it. Don’t think you could kill an animal for food? Tell you what. If the grocery store stopped selling meat I’d be out there strangling squirrels with my bare hands.

I like meat.

3 comments

  1. Snype451 · June 18, 2008

    I can understand where you are coming from. Mostly I think its a bit of “your body is used to meat, so it wants meat” and a bit of “mmmm, blessed protein”.

    Now for you, there is meat and there is other meat… Do you ever feel the same way about a fish? what about pork? is it only red meat. very interesting really.

    On a side note, I love this auto-generated part of wordpress.

    Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    * meat is murder, tasty tasty murder
    * Where’s the beef?

  2. flyblu04 · June 21, 2008

    @snype the title of my post “meat is murder tasty tasty murder” is soo ironic.
    and I completely understand what you are going through, although ive been a vegetarian for about 16 months my body still craves meat. i think its a psychological thing, i ate meat for 23 years, you don’t just get over meat in 16 months.
    dont force it. if you like meat keep eating it. oh and you proably still craved meat after that meal because it was sans substantial protein. next time add some garbanzo beans or something like that

  3. Air33 · June 22, 2008

    I cannot go a day or two without totally flipping out and caving for sometime of meat based protean. Although I eat alot of vegetables, rice, and meat I don’t think I could give it up.

Leave a Reply

