Set Sail!

So I’ve decided on another item to add to my Life List. Its innocuous, strange, exactly what I need, and its totally realistic.

Freighter travel.

You know those cargo ships with the thousands of railway containers onboard? Yup, that’s it. I’m going to ride on a cargo ship on a cross continental voyage. The trips can take a month or more depending on the size of your ship and the route. The destinations? All the coastal megacities, plus tons of obscure coastal ports.

Its the perfect candidate for a gonzo journalism vacation, studying this lifestyle, this way of experiencing travel and the sea, studying oneself, and, finally arriving at a port a whole ocean away.

Anyways it appeals to me, and despite all the hops around on airplanes I do these days I don’t get that same sense of travel from the experience. This would be a return to travel beyond my comfort zone.

The cost seems to be an average of $100 a day, which considering that’s five star accoms, meals, all of it, well it’s not too bad.

Okay enough of that. I’m stoned and worried that I’m making a total jackass out of myself. Not because I’m a freak. I already knew that. No I’m afraid my prose is coming off like cheap chimpanzee scribbles. Fine, think what you will. I’ve got my soul.

Oh yeah…

Montreal in a few days to find an apartment. The time is closing in…

3 comments

  1. karandom · August 1, 2007

    I’ve wanted to set sail similarly, but then again I want to live in Antarctica for a couple months. Some would call out freak, but I think we are interestingly, compartmentalized humanoids.

    kArAndom

  2. Air33 · August 8, 2007

    I’ve always want to try this, or even to work on a tall ship, but I think I’m too old for this now.

  3. dsankt · September 27, 2007

    I think of this in the same frame as landbound feight hopping, a romantic journey simply for the pleasure of doing it. Have you considered crewing on a sailing ship instead?

Leave a Reply

