Too Far

Remember my theme for 2007? “I don’t give a fuck!” Yeah well, I think I may have taken it a bit too far. I went for beers last night to celebrate a friend’s birthday and… I vaguely recall throwing up in the tub last night. I haven’t checked it yet. Hold on…

…yup. Some evidence of spew. Here I thought it was just a terrible dream.  I only just now ventured into the bathroom. You see I woke up at eight this morning and realized that I was already an hour late for work. Ultimately I ended up two and a half hours late yet in a strangely kipper mood. Sure my stomach ached and I had that lightheaded buzz going, but overall I was pretty happy. Basking in the afterglow of an enjoyable night.

But yes. Being two and a half hours late for work is taking the “I don’t give a fuck!” attitude a bit too far. Or is it? I really didn’t care. I joked about it all day. It would seem “I don’t give a fuck!” is no longer a mantra, but a state of mind. I’m in the zone.

Even so I’m setting out a new standard for myself. Effective immediately I will abstain from drug and alcohol use for… here’s the tricky part. How long? Twelve hours is a nice sounding number, but too much. Eight? Perhaps. Nine? That’s nice. No, no let’s go with eight hours. I will not indulge in alcohol or drugs for the eight hour period prior to work commitments. The exception of course being things like gonzo video assignments in which case drinking on the job is to be encouraged.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to take a nap before I go help Dr. SARS shoot a video this evening.

Leave a Reply

