Dropping the Veils that hold us…

I had a moment of satori on the train today, one of those moments where it all, magically, miraculously makes sense. No, it isn’t a miracle, its just a return to sanity, to those things that we all know, but forget we know.

The catalyst was a passage in the book I was reading, it set sparks dancing, electrons jumping, chemicals linking and combining in my brain. Zap! Click! Zap! When you know something is true it washes over you like warm toffee butter – soft, smooth, warm.

“Its so fucking obvious. Why did I forget this?”

All those repeated pronouncements of thinkers, artists and leaders, those quotes that we love, lapping them up like puppies, then pissing out hours later like we never heard them.

Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. The fearful are caught as often as the bold.” – Helen Keller

One of my favourites. How easy it is to say things, to listen to the words without hearing their truth. Truth is lived, words are merely wigglings of the jaw. Language is our demon, it gives us signs to confuse with the truth. The map says we’re where?

The satori eventually faded and crumpled, not thick or hot enough to provoke real action, but enough to lighten my steps on the way home.

And who would I be if I didn’t tell you the name of the book? I think this particular cover is a bit tacky. I like mine better. There. How’s that for hubris?


Leave a Reply

